top of page
Beijing Forbidden City Moat SWCAS 田笠
2023 SWCAS Annual Meeting

Nov 2-4, 2023, University of Houston, Houston

Check back for more info later 

We are excited to announce the return of in-person conference activities for the 52st Annual SWCAS Conference.


The SWCAS 2023 will be held at the University of University of Houston, Houston

Abstract submission for the conference will be open in the spring 2023


51st Annual SWCAS Registration is Available Here

2022 Registration Fees:

Faculty: $100 before Sept 1; $130 after

Graduate Students:

$60 before Sept 1; $90 after

Virtual Only Registration: $30 (includes broadcast of keynote & special virtual plenary session)

Undergraduate Virtual Registration: Free



Click here to learn more about the early history and by-laws of SWCAS.

SWCAS Board of Directors

Christopher Born (2025)

​John Barnett (2025)

Arenda Chakravartty  (2024)

Jooyoun Lee (2024)

Melody Yunzi Li (2023)

Marcy Tanter (2023)





Click here for a PDF of the directory. If you would like to join the SWCAS Mailing List, all you will need is an institutional email address. Send a request to the SWCAS administrator in the contact form below.

Journal of the Southwest Conference on Asian Studies


Click HERE to access the Call for Submissions to the 2021 edition of the Journal. 




Click here to access former programs and other information about SWCAS Annual Meetings.

SWCAS Officers 2022-23

Melody Yunzi Li, President

Aryendra Chakravartty, Vice President

Zach Smith, Past President

Leah Renold, Secretary-Treasurer

Miao Dou, Webmaster

Patricia Schiaffini, CoC Rep

Past Meeting: October 7-8, 2022
University of Central ArkansasHybrid (In Person & Online)

The 51st Annual SWCAS meeting was held in-person and virtually at the University of Central Arkansas on October 7 - 8, 2022. Focusing on the theme of “Reconnecting in a (Post) Pandemic World,” the conference invited over one hundred scholars, teachers, and students representing fifteen different countries. The conference featured a keynote lecture from AAS President Dr. Kamran Asdar Ali, a roundtable on Asian and Asian American Studies under the framework of Global Asia, cultural performances from Dr. Melody Li and Dr. Cynthia Ma, and a public teacher education workshop on “Asia Across the Curriculum.”

Southwest Conference on Asian Studies  

is a regional conference of the 

Association for Asian Studies

* Our logo depicts a tree bending in the prevailing southwest wind, inscribed in a red ochre circle symbolizing the southern sun. Our conference in general encompasses Asianists located in Oklahoma, Texas, Arkansas, and Louisiana, although anyone is invited to join.

bottom of page